30 Day Giving Challenge Midpoint Update

November 16, 2011 at 8:25 pm Leave a comment

I will praise God’s name with singing and I will honor Him with thanksgiving…The humble will see their God at work and be glad. – Psalm 69:30, 32

Let us not merely say that we love each other; let us show the truth by our actions. – 1 John 3:18


 

My goal this month is to find at least one thing each day to be thankful for, and to find a way of giving to someone, however small.  I’ve been having fun so far this month on my way to this goal of living generously and gratefully.  I think that as I give and give thanks, I see God’s work a little more readily – and this brings me great joy.

Here is a sampling of some of the things I’ve been thankful for the last couple weeks:

  • An evening curled up with a book, a blanket, and a hot cup of tea
  • A husband willing to talk things through, even when we disagree
  • Modern technology that allows me to work from home – even in my pjs when I’m sick
  • Sunlight sparkling on frost on the grass
  • Answered prayers
  • Worship music
  • Freedom to vote
  • God’s love and care for us, both here on earth and in heaven later
  • Accomplished tasks
  • Kittens
  • Chance run-ins with friends
  • The feeling of gliding down a hill on rollerblades
  • Safety while traveling
  • A yellow-leafed tree that was lit up by the sun peaking over the hilltop behind
  • Our veterans and troops currently serving
  • “Rediscovering” an old CD

To help me with my giving goal, I’m participating in the 30-Day Giving Challenge.  Here are a few of the ways I’ve found to give over the last couple weeks:

  • Purchased items for our local food bank, Thanksgiving food baskets being distributed by our church, and Christmas stockings for our troops overseas
  • Gave extra time to my husband
  • Picked up trash on our street after Halloween
  • Emailed a friend I’ve not heard from in a while
  • Went on a prayer walk around our neighborhood, praying for our neighbors
  • Dropped off our shoe boxes for Operation Christmas Child, filled with all kinds of goodies for children in poor nations
  • Typed up quinoa recipes for a friend at church who was interested when I brought a dish in to a church function
  • Donated some of my credits earned by mailing books to others through Paperbackswap.com to an intercity school in TX and a school near Binghamton, NY that had been flooded when Hurricane Lee passed over.  These credits will be turned into books for their schools.

 

What are you thankful for today?  What ways have you found to give?

Entry filed under: Life. Tags: , , , , , .

Inward Outward Love from the Kitchen – Jamaican Lentil Stew

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blessed is the one...whose delight is in the law of the LORD, and who meditates on his law day and night. That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither — whatever they do prospers. Psalm 1:1-3

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 186 other followers

Recent Posts

Archive posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

