And so it begins…

September 8, 2011 at 4:40 pm 2 comments

I was headed out last night to meet Lori for a girls’ evening out at Panera.  Before I left, my husband asks me, “So, do you mind if I make a mess tonight?”  Uhhhhh.  What do you say to that?  I cautiously ask, “What kind of mess?”  He goes on to explain the project.

We want to build a raised floor over the sunken area in our living room to make it all one level.  Before doing that, we have to redirect one of the air ducts that run under the floor in my office, which is adjacent to the sunken part of the living room.  He was going to try to accomplish this while I was out, which required pulling off some paneling and cutting a hole in the floor of my office.  I resign myself to a mess for a while, given that it took us almost 2 years to finish the bathroom renovation.  Thankfully most of that was before we got married and I had my own apartment and was not living here.

So, I head off to meet Lori.  We have a great time chatting and some good food.  As we’re in the middle of a discussion (most likely about our men), Steven calls.  He asks me to pick something up at Home Depot, which is right around the corner, that he’s ordered online and quickly rattles off the dimensions of something called a stack boot (is that the latest fashion in ladies’ footwear??).  I’m trying to figure out what he’s talking about and scrambling for a pen and something to write on.  Apparently the phrases I’m saying as I do that cause Lori to really wonder and the expression on her face is priceless.  I get the part info, hang up, and have to explain the project to Lori, who sympathizes with me as I wonder what I am going home to.

We part company not long after and I head to Home Depot.  While one guy goes to get the part, I chat with a couple other guys at the service desk about the recent storms and all the complications from it.  They are, of course, all out of sump pumps, which is what every other phone call they get is about.  I get the part, and head home.

I walk into the house and this is the sight that greets me as I get to my office.  The silver part is the stack boot in case you were curious.

As you can see, this is very close to where I work during the day.

Thankfully, he has thought to bring the air filter in here to clean up some of the sawdust and insulation and who-knows-what from the air.  I sit down to putter with things and he continues to put the air duct back into place along with the insulation and floor.  At one point, he says “Just to warn you, I anticipate there being problems with this” and goes on to explain that I can’t walk too near the air vent because it will likely fall back into the floor, at least until he figures out how to keep it from doing that.  I’m chuckling at the whole situation!

I am definitely glad he knows how to do these kinds of things and isn’t afraid to learn as he goes.  And things always come out great.  But the process can be a bit frustrating and uncomfortable as we deal with the mess of the transition.  For now, I have a mostly finished air vent in my office and a cut in the carpet.  I’m secretly (or not so) hoping for some new carpeting out of this eventually.  But that’s for further down the road, however long it ends up being.  These projects have a way of growing well beyond the scope of the original plan!

Entry filed under: Life.

Wordless Wednesday – A Ray of Sunshine Wordless Wednesday – One Year Later: Still Feeling Like A Princess

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  September 8, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    I strongly recommend avoiding pets 🙂 When we moved into our house, one of the workers forgot to replace one of the covers. And our kitty, who we nicknamed after the incident “Magellan”, climbed inside to explore. Unfortunately, her whereabouts were not immediately noticeable. We could just hear her plaintive meowing coming from “somewhere” in the house.

    BTW – can you imagine the mess if Andrei were visiting? I am picturing someone stuck half in and half out a la Winnie the Pooh and rabbit.

    Reply
    • 2. Mandy  |  September 9, 2011 at 9:31 am

      Aww, poor kitty!
      LOL Wow, yeah, Andrei and Steven doing a project together! I’m sure there’d be a trebuchet in there somewhere! 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blessed is the one...whose delight is in the law of the LORD, and who meditates on his law day and night. That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither — whatever they do prospers. Psalm 1:1-3

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 187 other followers

Recent Posts

Archive posts


