Why small kindnesses matter

September 27, 2011 at 9:50 am Leave a comment

Sunday morning was rough for me.  I was in one of my feeling-down-about-myself moods and was feeling like a failure.  Combine a natural tendency toward depression with hormones and you get one ugly mess!  I didn’t feel like going to church and being around people, but went anyway, knowing that being with God always helps.  I cried through much of the worship, my husband’s supportive arm around me getting me through, along with Pastor Tom’s exhortation to the congregation to let go of our self-centered thoughts and fears and worship the Lord (which initially stung).

After the service, Steven went off to talk to someone, and I was just about to sit down to wait for him, not wanting to talk to anyone.  But, one of the worship team singers came up to me then.  She had seen my tears and was concerned about me.  We’re fairly new to this church and I hadn’t ever talked with her, so I was really touched.  She prayed for me and we chatted a bit.


Photo credit

I don’t think it’s an overstatement to say that her simple act of kindness changed the course of my day.  She helped me out of my dark world of self-pity and into the light of reality.  I was able to enjoy several other conversations with people at church and had a much lighter spirit the rest of the day.  I am so thankful for her willingness to reach out to me in love.  I hope I can someday do the same for someone else.

Have you been the recipient of a small kindness recently?  Or given a small kindness?

Entry filed under: Life. Tags: , , , .

Love from the Kitchen – Fruit and Vegetable Curry Happy Mistakes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blessed is the one...whose delight is in the law of the LORD, and who meditates on his law day and night. That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither — whatever they do prospers. Psalm 1:1-3

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 187 other followers

Recent Posts

Archive posts


